Author Revealed

About Emily Gravett

Q. What is your birthdate?

A. 8/9

Q. Previous occupations

A. I haven't really had any. After I left home (too young) I lived in a big green army bus for eight years. I used to busk in the street to earn some money, which was fun but cold. I also spent a few seasons failing to pick apples and potatoes.

Q. Favorite job

A. I think not picking potatoes was good. The potato farm was in a beautiful area, and I spent lots of time drawing whilst my poor partner crawled across potato fields. It also had the bonus of as many free potatoes as we could eat!

Q. High school and/or college

A. I went to school in my home town of Brighton. I hated Secondary school (our version of high school) and when I left I swore I'd never go to college. It took me twelve years to change my mind.

Revealing Questions

Q. How would you describe your life in only 8 words?

A. I can't! That's two...but this makes eight.

Q. What is your motto or maxim?

A. Why stay between the lines?

Q. How would you describe perfect happiness?

A. For me perfect happiness a day with my family after finishing (and being pleased with) a book, but having had an idea of what to start working on next. It also involves roast potatoes, red wine, well cut lawns and my dog.

Q. What’s your greatest fear?

A. I have a lot of fears, and my greatest one is far far too scary for me to write about. It involves...nope, Sorry!

Q. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?

A. Here at home in my studio, but with maybe another cup of tea.

Q. Which living person do you most admire?

A. My daughter.

Q. What do you regret most?

A. I only regret one thing in my life, but it's a secret!

Q. If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?

A. I'd love to be able to sing, but it's never going to happen.

Q. If you could be any person or thing, who or what would it be?

A. I would like an hour as my dog. Just to see what it's like to run at 30mph. I like being me though.

Q. What trait is most noticeable about you?

A. Hmmm. I dread to think! I wear a lot of stripes, and am often in big boots.

Q. If you could meet any historical character, who would it be and what would you say to him or her?

A. Who are you (I'm very bad at recognising people), and am I dreaming?

Q. What is your biggest pet peeve?

A. Lateness. I'm the kind of person that's always early to everything. I spend a lot of time hanging around in in the cold being too early for trains/meetings/friends/parties etc. That's one of the reasons I find lateness so irritating. When you're normally half an hour early, and everyone else is half an hour late it means a whole hour of waiting. Grrrr.

Q. What is your favorite occupation, when you’re not writing?

A. In the Summer I love mowing the lawn. I even got rid an my electric mower because I love the sound my push along makes. In the winter I like to bake cakes.

Q. What’s your fantasy profession?

A. This is!

Q. What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?

A. Kindness, politeness, and punctuality

Q. If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your days, what would it be?

A. That would be really really boring! But I do love baked beans on toast, with cheese on the top.