Betaball

How Silicon Valley and Science Built One of the Greatest Basketball Teams in History

Betaball

“As lively, thorough, and engaging as the team it chronicles” (Nathaniel Friedman), Betaball is a compelling look at how the Golden State Warriors embraced savvy business practices, next generation science, and Silicon Valley’s technocentric culture not only to produce one of the greatest basketball teams in history but also to revolutionize the NBA—perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball.

Betaball is the definitive, inside account of how the Golden State Warriors, under the ownership of venture capitalist Joe Lacob and Hollywood producer Peter Guber, quickly became one of the greatest success stories in both sports and business.

In just five years, they turned a declining franchise with no immediate hope into the NBA’s dominant force—and facilitated the rise of All-Star point guard Stephen Curry. By operating in “beta,” the Warriors morphed into a model organization for American professional sports, instituting the best workplace principles found inside the world’s most successful corporations, and instilling a top-down organizational ethos that allows employees—from the front office to the free-throw line—to thrive.

With in-depth access and meticulous reporting on and off the court, acclaimed journalist Eric Malinowski recounts a gripping tale of a team’s reinvention, of worlds colliding, of ordinary people being pushed to extraordinary heights, and the Golden State Warriors’ chase for a second straight NBA championship during the 2015-’16 season. Betaball is “a book for fans of all sports and science, business and analytics, Silicon Valley and Wall Street, front offices and locker rooms, money and winning” (Don Van Natta Jr., ESPN reporter and New York Times bestselling author).
  • Atria Books | 
  • 416 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781501158209 | 
  • November 2018
List Price $17.00 (price may vary by retailer)
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day

Teaching Resources

To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

Read an Excerpt

Hear an Excerpt

Join our Mailing List

Get our latest book recommendations, author news and sweepstakes right to your inbox

About the Author

Erik Malinowski

Erik Malinowski is a nationally recognized freelance journalist based in the Bay Area who has been published in Wired, Rolling Stone, Slate, Atlas Obscura, Sports on Earth, Uproxx, Esquire, Vocativ, Sporting News, The New Republic, and Baseball Prospectus. He is a frequent guest on NPR’s “Only a Game” and his work has appeared in Best American Sports Writing three years running.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US