This Tender Land

A Novel

This Tender Land

Black Earth County, Minnesota. Summer of 1958. The body of a local land baron is found in the bed of the Alabaster River, and the small town’s favored suspect is a Sioux Indian and World War II veteran. Violence simmers in this unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author of Ordinary Grace.

Charlotte “Charlie” Bauer remembers Memorial Day 1958 like yesterday…and for all the wrong reasons. When an unexpected event forces her to revisit that tragic summer, she starts her haunting story on a river near small-town Jewel, Minnesota, where Jimmy Quinn’s catfish-ravaged body was found floating downstream.

At first, the sheriff calls the death a terrible accident. But neighbors rush to condemn a quiet Sioux Indian named Noah Bluestone. The retired Marine has recently returned home, wanting only to start a new life, and his Indian blood and young Japanese wife make him an easy target for simmering hostilities.

As Charlie, Bluestone’s court-appointed attorney, digs for the truth, she discovers that what happened to Quinn is much bigger than the man who sits in jail accused of murder. Secrets withheld for decades spill forth, threatening to unravel the fabric of the entire community. Beneath the placid surface of this simple time linger the ravages of war and the terrible pain of wounds that refuse to heal. This Tender Land explores this darkness unflinchingly as it celebrates the human heart’s boundless capacity to forgive.
  • Atria Books | 
  • 320 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781476749297 | 
  • September 2019
List Price $26.00 (price may vary by retailer)
Ships on or around September 1, 2019

Teaching Resources

To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit

Join our Mailing List

Get our latest book recommendations, author news and sweepstakes right to your inbox

More Books from this Author

Sulfur Springs
William Kent Krueger Collection #5
Manitou Canyon
Atria Mystery Sampler 2016

About the Author

William Kent Krueger
Diane Krueger

William Kent Krueger

William Kent Krueger is the award-winning author of seventeen previous Cork O’Connor novels, including Tamarack County and Windigo Island, as well as the novel Ordinary Grace, winner of the 2014 Edgar Award for best novel. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Visit his website at