Skip to Main Content

A Magic Fierce and Bright

LIST PRICE $10.99

About The Book

A young technomancer teams up with a handsome thief to save her sister in this propulsive, magic-filled young adult fantasy that is perfect for fans of Gearbreakers and Iron Widow.

Adya wants nothing more than to be left alone. Content to be loyal to no one but herself in the isolated jungles of South India, she dreams only of finding her lost sister, Priya, and making enough money to take care of their family. It’s too bad that her rare ability to wake electric machines—using the magic that wiped them out five centuries ago—also makes her a coveted political pawn. Everyone seems to believe that her technomancy can help them win the endless war for control over the magic’s supernatural source.

These senseless power struggles mean little to Adya. But when her enemies dangle news of her sister before her, she’s all too quick to leap at the chance to bring Priya home—even if it means teaming up with a rakish, disreputable thief in order to do it. With the threat of invasion looming ever larger on the horizon, Adya must reconcile the kind of person she is with the kind of person she wants to be and untangle the web of intrigue, conspiracy, and deceit that threatens to take all of India down with it.

About The Author

Photograph courtesy of author

Hemant Nayak is a writer of fantasy stories with a bit of heart and joy and a lot of the strange. He lives with his family in the Pacific Northwest. In his free time, he runs around the deep woods with his dogs, strums guitar in a garage band, and even plays Dungeons & Dragons with friends. When he’s not writing, he shifts to his alternate life as an ER doctor. Find out more about him at HemantNayak.com.

Why We Love It

“Packed to the brim with bombast, explosions, and action that will take your breath away, A Magic Fierce and Bright is perfect for fans of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Michael Bay movies, and Pacific Rim. You will adore prickly Adya and her merry band of misfits as they race through dense jungles and lush cities in search of the truest love: the love between a girl and her sister.”

—Alyza L., Editor, on A Magic Fierce and Bright

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (July 9, 2024)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665921831
  • Grades: 7 and up
  • Ages: 12 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“A Magic Fierce and Bright is a wildly imaginative story that takes the reader from the lush jungle to a grand palace hiding many secrets. The action doesn’t let up from the explosive beginning to the triumphant end. The magical world contained within these pages is a pure delight. I’ve never experienced anything like it!”

– Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the Book of Tea duology 

“An adrenaline-fueled, action-packed, nonstop ride full of magic and danger, family and friendship, loss and triumph—and one sentient motorcycle that will steal your heart and race it to the finish line. With brilliant pacing, fantastic characters, and a wildly creative world, A Magic Fierce and Bright is a true winner!”

– Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage

"A Magic Fierce and Bright expertly blends science fiction and fantasy for an edge-of-your-seat adventure. I couldn't put down this debut, eager to follow Adya and her crew across India! Now that I have finished, all I can say is that I cannot wait for whatever Nayak gives us next, even if it means facing down colonialist vampires, terrifying mythic monsters, and a cat named Useless."

– George Jreije, author of Shad Hadid and the Alchemists of Alexandria

★ "Nayak's characters are realistic, intelligent, and lively, and the plot is exciting, complex, and fast-paced. The creative brilliance in the lush storytelling is outstanding, especially with the concept of technomancy—bringing dead technological devices to life and imbuing them with personality and purpose is a fascinating magic system unlike most in the genre. Nayak meshes his characters, his plot, and varied genres of sf, fantasy, and cyberpunk with skill and aplomb."

– Booklist, starred review

"[A] daring steampunk fantasy...[that] weaves an intricately built setting via plentiful sensorial description and sprawling worldbuilding. Ragtag found-family dynamics, discerning dialogue, tightly constructed action sequences, and all the explosive excitement of a Mad Max film further escalate this expansive tale about the triumphant bond of sisterhood."

– Publishers Weekly

"This breathless techno-fantasy adventure abounds in terrifying and electrifying thrills; the nonstop action...will keep readers riveted.

An exhilarating ride."

– Kirkus Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images