Skip to Main Content

American Fever

A Novel

Published by Arcade
Distributed by Simon & Schuster
LIST PRICE $26.99

About The Book

For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America.

This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice.”—Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl

On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama.  A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. 

American Fever is a compelling and laugh-out-loud funny novel about adolescence, family, otherness, religion, the push-and-pull of home. It marks the entrance on the international literary scene of the brilliant fresh voice of Dur e Aziz Amna. 

About The Author

Dur e Aziz Amna grew up in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, and now lives in Michigan, USA. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Financial Times, and Longreads, among others. She won the 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize, with an e-book publication by Penguin, and was longlisted for the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2020. She graduated from Yale College and the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan. Her debut novel, AMERICAN FEVER, is forthcoming from Sceptre and Arcade Books (August 2022).
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Arcade (August 16, 2022)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781950994496

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Hira’s is a voice I won’t soon forget; her biting intelligence, her irreverence, and her wit blazes through this riveting, brilliant novel which stuns in its insights, its sensitive understanding of the complexities of identity, of what home means, and what it means to exist within a globalized world. A searing debut.”—Aamina Ahmad, author of The Return of Faraz Ali
 
“Brave, tender-hearted, and painfully bittersweet, American Fever is a sharply observed debut that announces Dur e Aziz Amna as a brilliant new voice.”—Fatima Farheen Mirza, bestselling author of A Place for Us

"Dur e Aziz Amna’s “American Fever” is a loving and unflinching exploration of home and homeland, the ways they make and unmake us, how they feed us and also eat away our insides. Like the diamond the protagonist Hira is named for, Amna’s crystalline prose reflects and refracts, dazzles and captivates." — Nawaaz Ahmed, author of “Radiant Fugitives,” finalist for the PEN-Faulkner Award.
 
“In this sharply observed twist on the classic coming-to-America story, we find an America recognizable in all its generosity, cruelty, and sometimes-well-intentioned bumbling. And we find a brilliant exploration of the sacred, scary moment when a girl comes into the wider world.”—Benjamin Moser, Pulitzer-Prize-winning author of Sontag: Her Life and Work 
 
“The immigrant experience is frequently one of defamiliarization, but in American Fever, Dur e Aziz Amna, has hit on a brilliant means of defamiliarizing the immigrant novel: exploring the liminal experience—not quite settler, not quite expatriate—of the foreign exchange student. Hira is a wonderfully complex creation, perfectly poised at the adolescent juncture of wide-eyed newcomer and precocious cultural critic. Her razor-sharp observations of the US and Pakistan—their faiths, politics, culture—have the bold truth-telling power of both innocence and experience.”—Peter Ho Davies, bestselling author of The Welsh Girl
 
“American Fever is the unforgettable story of a teenage girl in a year of transformation. Dur e Aziz Amna navigates the choppy waters of adolescence with blistering insight and humor, and exquisitely captures the way we can long for home while yearning to escape it. Rarely does a book sharpen how you see the world around you, but American Fever does just that. It dazzled me on every page.”—Julie Buntin, author of Marlena
 
American Fever is an extraordinarily assured and gripping debut. The intelligence, humour and longing of Hira’s voice, as she negotiates what it means to belong to a place, will stay with me.”—Ayşegül Savaş, author of Walking on the Ceiling [we can move this last quote to the front lap if there’s no room on the back.]
 
“In American Fever’s Hira, Dur e Aziz Amna gives us an unforgettable South Asian protagonist—clever, clear spoken, equal parts brash and vulnerablenavigating the mores of illness, separation, and small-town America. Charming, fearless, and politically aware, American Fever is a novel that will stay with you for a long time.”—Sarah Thankam Mathews, author of All This Could Be Different

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images