Skip to Main Content

Bold Words from Black Women

Inspiration and Truths from 50 Extraordinary Leaders Who Helped Shape Our World

Illustrated by Monica Ahanonu
LIST PRICE $19.99

About The Book

Celebrate the power of Black womanhood in this first-of-its-kind collection of inspirational quotes from fifty activists, artists, and leaders, featuring bold, attention-grabbing illustrations—perfect for readers of Herstory and Little Leaders.

This incredible volume honors fifty modern women, presented with their own words, who have dared to raise their voices and persevere through hardship and injustice to become revolutionaries and dreamers, artists and creators.

Featuring women like musical powerhouse Beyoncé Knowles; tennis star Serena Williams; Meghan, Duchess of Sussex; and activist Angela Davis, this stylish book is perfect for any reader who is seeking grace, courage, strength, and self-love.

About The Author

Dr. Tamara Pizzoli is an African American writer, publisher, and producer who was born and raised in Texas and now resides in Rome, Italy, with her four children. She pens and publishes stories through her independent publishing house, The English Schoolhouse. Visit her at TheEnglishSchoolhouse.com.

About The Illustrator

Monica Ahanonu is a freelance illustrator working and living in Los Angeles. She has worked with companies such as The New York Times, InStyle, Adidas, Sprite, Salvatore Ferragamo, DreamWorks Animation and more. Afropunk.com describes Monica’s style as “expressive portraits that bring an extra dimension to each subject.” You can follow her work on Instagram at @MonicaAhanonu.

Product Details

Raves and Reviews

Honest, inspirational, and unapologetic declarations of the trials and triumphs of Black womanhood.

– Kirkus Reviews, 1/1/2022

The quotes are uniformly reassuring and inspirational, and several speak directly about self-acceptance and finding one's
way. Be sure to leave this out where browsers can readily access its affirmative messages.

– Booklist, 1/1/2022

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images