Skip to Main Content

Dark Is Rising


    About The Book

    On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift -- that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.

    About The Author

    Photograph © Tsar Fedorsky Photography 2013

    Susan Cooper is one of our foremost children’s authors; her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising has sold millions of copies worldwide. Her many books have won the Newbery Medal, a Newbery Honor, and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, and been shortlisted five times for the Carnegie Medal. She combines fantasy with history in Victory (a Washington Post Top Ten for Children novel), King of Shadows and Ghost Hawk, and her magical The Boggart and the Monster, second in a trilogy, won the Scottish Arts Council’s Children’s Book Award. Susan Cooper lives on a saltmarsh island in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at

    Product Details

    • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (October 1, 1999)
    • Length: 320 pages
    • ISBN13: 9780689829833
    • Grades: 3 - 7
    • Ages: 8 - 12
    • Lexile ® 910L The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®

    Browse Related Books

    Awards and Honors

    • ALA Newbery Honor Book
    • ALA Notable Children's Books
    • Agatha Award Finalist
    • Carnegie Medal Honor Book
    • Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Finalist
    • Gateway Readers Award (MO)
    • Boston Globe/Horn Book Award
    • Bay Area Book Reviewers Association Award
    • Kate Greenaway Medal Honor Book
    • African Studies Assn Children's Bk Award

    Resources and Downloads

    Common Core Text Exemplar

    High Resolution Images

    More books from this author: Susan Cooper

    More books in this series: The Dark Is Rising Sequence