Skip to Main Content

Glossy

Ambition, Beauty, and the Inside Story of Emily Weiss's Glossier

LIST PRICE $29.99

About The Book

The astonishing story of the billion-dollar makeup brand Glossier and its iconic millennial founder who transformed American retail—for fans of Super Pumped and Billion Dollar Loser.

Called “one of the most disruptive brands in beauty” by Forbes, Glossier not only revolutionized the beauty industry with its sophisticated branding and unique approach to influencer marketing, it taught a generation of business leaders how to talk to their customers and build a cult following online.

At the center of the story lies Emily Weiss, the elusive former Teen Vogue intern and reality TV star who had vision, guts, and searing ambition. At age twenty-nine, Weiss launched the now famous beauty blog Into the Gloss. At age thirty-seven, she would leave the helm of her billion-dollar company shortly after giving birth to her daughter.

In Glossy, journalist and author Marisa Meltzer combines in-depth interviews with former Glossier employees, investors, and Weiss herself to bring you inside the walls of this fascinating and secretive company. From fundraising to product launches and unconventional hiring practices, Meltzer exposes the inner workings of Glossier’s culture both good and bad. She also tells the story of Weiss herself in this gripping and dazzling portrait of one of the most iconic business leaders of her generation.

About The Author

Photograph by Marisa Meltzer

Marisa Meltzer is a journalist based in New York whose work has appeared in The New York TimesThe New YorkerVanity Fair, Vogue, and more. She is the author of Glossy and three previous books. Find out more at MarisaMeltzer.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria/One Signal Publishers (July 11, 2023)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982190606

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for This Is Big

“In this memoir-nonfiction hybrid, Meltzer skillfully blends her own extensive dieting history with the life story of Jean Nidetch, the Queens housewife who founded Weight Watchers in 1963 and helped to create “diet culture” as we know it today.”
Vogue

"A triumphant chronicle... Meltzer has created singular companionate text for those who know the agony of frustration surrounding weight as an issue, both personal and political. Acerbic, culturally astute and genuine, [Meltzer] makes exquisite company in the struggle."
New York Times

"[This] brilliant book tells the story of thinness obsession through the lives of two women-Jean Nidetch, the founder of Weight Watchers, and Meltzer herself."
Glamour

"Meltzer looks at her own pursuit of weight loss and uses it to illuminate our culture's relentless focus on thinness."
Washington Post

"This is Big...[finds] in Nidetch both a genuine pioneer - a woman who built a massive culture-defining business at a time when women couldn't even have their own credit cards - and a representative of many ideas about weight and health that are as destructive as they are enduring."
Vanity Fair

"Not a memoir of radical self-acceptance or saccharine inspiration, but a candid - at times dark - look at what it means to be an overweight woman in 2020."
Los Angeles Times

"Meltzer writes movingly of her own struggles with having a body, but her experiment isn't the exclusive focus of the book: It also chronicles the life of Weight Watchers founder Jean Nidetch, whose vaudevillian comic timing, retrograde ideas about fat and happiness, and unconcealed desire for fame and connection make her a fascinating subject."
Vox

"If you've ever been critical of diets, diet companies, and diet culture in the past, you're going to love what Meltzer has to offer here."
Bustle

"This heartfelt, incisive book layers the story of Weight Watchers founder Jean Nidetch with the author's own lifelong journey through various fad diets. What emerges is a surprising portrait of a remarkable but little-known life in business, as well as a thoughtful critique of America's obsession with thinness."
Esquire

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images