Skip to Main Content

How Lulu Lost Her Mind

LIST PRICE $16.00

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson comes the story of a mother-daughter journey to rediscover the past before it disappears forever.

Lou Ann Hunter’s mother, Patricia, has always had a passionate nature, which explains why she’s been married and divorced five times and spooned enough male patients to be ousted from three elderly care facilities. She also has Alzheimer’s, which is why she wants to spend the rest of her life surrounded by childhood memories at Sutton Hall, her family’s decrepit plantation home in Louisiana.

Lou Ann, a.k.a. Lulu the Love Guru, has built an empire preaching sex, love, and relationship advice to the women of America—mostly by defying the example her mother has set for her. But with Patricia suddenly in need of a fulltime caretaker, Lou Ann reluctantly agrees to step out of the spotlight and indulge her mother’s wishes, even if it means trading in her Louboutins and Chanel N°5 for boots and mosquito repellant.

Upon her arrival at Sutton Hall, Lou Ann discovers that very little functions as it should—least of all Patricia’s mind. And as she adjusts to this new and inevitably temporary dynamic with the help of a local handyman and a live-in nurse, she is forced to confront the reality that neither her nor her mother’s future is going according to plan.

Heartrending at times and laugh-out-loud funny at others, How Lulu Lost Her Mind is the book for everyone and their mother. Fans of Emily Giffin, Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis won’t be able to forget it.

Rachel Gibson is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of over twenty-five novels, including The Art of Running in Heels and Just Kiss Me. She has received the RITA Award, the Golden Heart, the National Readers Choice Award, and more.

PRAISE FOR HOW LULU LOST HER MIND

"Rachel Gibson’s How Lulu Lost Her Mind is a compassionate, poignant, often humorous story of the complicated relationship between a mother and daughter. It’s about sacrifices and secrets, love and loss, and knowing when to give in, when to hold on, and when to let go. I loved it!" New York Times bestselling Author Mariah Stewart

“Gibson (The Art of Running in Heels, 2017) orchestrates a realistic dynamic between mother and daughter  and captures the sadness of losing someone right before your eyes. Many funny and tender moments help readers enjoy the characters [...] and the situation makes for an excellent women’s-fiction title for book discussions." – Booklist

"Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Jane Graves will love Rachel Gibson's How Lulu Lost Her Mind, an endearing, funny, and heart-tugging story from the first page to the last." – New York Times bestselling author Karen Hawkins

“Equal parts heartwarming, heartfelt, and humorous, How Lulu Lost Her Mind was a joy, start to finish.” – USA Today Bestselling author Nina Bocci

"A gem.... Rachel Gibson’s foray into women’s fiction was a smashing success!" – A Novel Glimpse

"If you only read one book this summer, make sure it's this one. It's life when the roles between mothers and daughters is reversed, complete with crazy and love mixed up together." – Carolyn Brown, New York Times Bestselling Author.

"Fabulous." – One More Book

"Rachel Gibson has taken a topic, an illness that is utterly terrifying, and humanized it in such a way that I was absolutely blown away." – Rolopolobookblog

PRAISE FOR RACHEL GIBSON

“She’s a Winner!” Detroit Free Press

“Rachel Gibson does it again.” New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips

“Gibson is funny, touching, steamy…” – New York Times bestselling Author Elizabeth Lowell

“What a find.” New York Times bestselling author Jayne Ann Krentz

You may also like: Fiction Staff Picks