Skip to Main Content

A People Best Book of Summer 2020
A Parade Best Book of Summer 2020

The YA thriller of the summer.” —Bustle

First print edition includes blue sprayed edges!

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

Photo: © Carly Gaebe / Steadfast Studio

Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow. Originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, she studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press, edits for private clients, and mentors emerging writers through Pitch Wars. She is the author of See All the StarsAll Eyes on Us, and I Killed Zoe Spanos. Visit Kit online at KitFrick.com and on Twitter @KitFrick.

"Narrators Jenni Barber and Jayme Mattler lead a full cast in this YA homage to Daphne du Maurier's classic psychological suspense, REBECCA. While Barber and Mattler do most of the heavy lifting, it is the full cast that steals this audiobook show. The title character mysteriously disappears, and, as could only happen in contemporary times, a podcast sets out to solve the crime. As the supporting cast voices the podcast that runs through the story, listeners are treated to full, immersive audio with voices, static, variable sound quality, news clips,and sound effects. These vignettes drive the narrative forward. Once listeners hit play, they won't want to stop until they find out what happened to Zoe."

– AudioFile Magazine

More books from this author: Kit Frick