Tangled

A Story About Shapes

Illustrated by Eric Comstock
LIST PRICE $10.99
About The Book

“Clever fun.” —Booklist

From award-winning author Anne Miranda comes a rollicking rhyming story about an unruly gang of sixteen geometric shapes who get tangled in the neighborhood jungle gym until their friend comes to their rescue and order is restored. Perfect for fans of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom!

One day a little circle,
just as happy as could be,
got caught inside a jungle gym,
and couldn’t wiggle free.

When the neighborhood shapes go climbing on the park jungle gym the last thing they expect is a tangle. First the circle, next the triangle and then the square. One by one soon all sixteen shapes are trapped. They push and pull and tumble and cry for help. Who will save them? One special shape can set the others free. Can you guess which one it is? This charming story makes learning the names of sixteen shapes as easy as a day in the park.

About The Author
None

Anne Miranda is an American who has lived Madrid, Spain, since 1994. She is the mother of two grown sons and is a writer of books and educational materials for very young children. Her books include Night Songs, which was selected to be part of the Society of Illustrator’s Show and was named Bank Street College Children’s Book of the Year; To Market, To Market (illustrated by Janet Stephens), which was an Abby Honor Book, and ALA Notable Children’s Book, a Golden Kite Honor Book for Illustration, and a Flicker Tale Nominee; Beep! Beep! (illustrated by David Murphy), which was a Parents’ Choice Gold Award; Glad Monster Sad Monster (illustrated by Caldecott Award winner Ed Emberly); and Tangled (illustrated by Eric Comstock). Visit her website at AnneMiranda.com.

About The Illustrator

Eric Comstock’s very first picture book was the Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Pizza Slice by Marilyn Sadler which was selected to be part of the Original Art Show at the Society of Illustrators. His second book The Great Dictionary Caper by Judy Sierra was called “Peppy…entertaining and educational” in a starred review in Booklist. He lives in Austin, Texas. You can see more of Eric’s work at EricComstock.us.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books (June 2019)
  • Length: 40 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781481497220
  • Grades: P - 3
  • Ages: 4 - 8

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"When a little pink circle, sporting a wide grin and a line-drawn bow, gets trapped inside the jungle gym, her friends—all different shapes—try to help her get free, but one by one, they all get trapped as well. Soon, the town is in a complete frenzy, as more shapes gather to figure out how to free the group now hopelessly tangled. And then who should appear but a line, who, after carefully examining the situation from every angle, comes up with a mathematical solution. This is tailor-made for read-alouds; an engaging rhyme and energetic narrative, with some words set in bolder or more dynamic fonts ("What a horror! What a mess! / The shapes could not untwine. / Then rushing to the rescue, / came a straight and narrow line"), set the tone. Comstock's retro monochromatic illustrations sneak in plenty of spatial and geometric concepts, and his cast of shapes has plenty of personality in their drawn-in facial expressions. A glossary of shapes provides opportunities for further learning in this bit of clever fun."  -- Booklist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this illustrator: Eric Comstock