Skip to Main Content

The Bones of Ruin

Read by Ione Butler
LIST PRICE $29.99

    About The Book

    An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

    As an African tightrope dancer in Victorian London, Iris is used to being strange. She is certainly an unusual sight for leering British audiences always eager for the spectacle of colonial curiosity. But Iris also has a secret that even “strange” doesn’t capture…​

    She cannot die.

    Haunted by her unnatural power and with no memories of her past, Iris is obsessed with discovering who she is. But that mission gets more complicated when she meets the dark and alluring Adam Temple, a member of a mysterious order called the Enlightenment Committee. Adam seems to know much more about her than he lets on, and he shares with her a terrifying revelation: the world is ending, and the Committee will decide who lives…and who doesn’t.

    To help them choose a leader for the upcoming apocalypse, the Committee is holding the Tournament of Freaks, a macabre competition made up of vicious fighters with fantastical abilities. Adam wants Iris to be his champion, and in return he promises her the one thing she wants most: the truth about who she really is.

    If Iris wants to learn about her shadowy past, she has no choice but to fight. But the further she gets in the grisly tournament, the more she begins to remember—and the more she wonders if the truth is something best left forgotten.

    About The Author

    Photograph by Melanie Gillis

    Sarah Raughley grew up in Southern Ontario writing stories about freakish little girls with powers because she secretly wanted to be one. She is a huge fangirl of anything from manga to sci-fi fantasy TV to Japanese role-playing games and other geeky things, all of which have largely inspired her writing. Sarah has been nominated for the Aurora Award for Best YA Novel and works in the community doing writing workshops for youths and adults. On top of being a YA writer, Sarah has a PhD in English, which makes her a doctor, so it turns out she didn’t have to go to medical school after all. As an academic, Sarah has taught undergraduate courses and acted as a postdoctoral fellow. Her research concerns representations of race and gender in popular media culture, youth culture, and postcolonialism. She has written and edited articles in political, cultural, and academic publications. She continues to use her voice for good. You can find her online at SarahRaughley.com.

    About The Reader

    Photograph by Damu Malik

    Ione Butler is a British actress, host, voice-over artist, and entrepreneur, and the founder of Uplifting Content. Based in Los Angeles, Ione can often be found traveling for work or fun.

    Product Details

    • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (September 7, 2021)
    • Runtime: 17 hours and 16 minutes
    • ISBN13: 9781797134253
    • Grades: 9 and up
    • Ages: 14 - 99

    Browse Related Books

    Raves and Reviews

    "Butler’s accent captures the upper-class members of London’s elite, beautifully enhancing the setting and grounding listeners in the time period. The story features a wildly entertaining cast of characters, and Butler brings each of them to life with loads of personality and animation."

    – AudioFile Magazine

    Resources and Downloads

    High Resolution Images

    More books from this author: Sarah Raughley

    More books from this reader: Ione Butler