Skip to Main Content

The House of the Seven Gables


About The Book

The story of the Pyncheon family, residents of an evil house cursed by the victim of their ancestor's witch hunt and haunted by the ghosts of many generations.

The House of the Seven Gables has been home to many generations of the Pyncheon family, each with their own dramas and tragedies. But all have felt the cold touch of a curse placed upon the house by a man who was hanged for witchcraft, the victim of a Pyncheon ancestor's greed. This evil house is haunted by the ghosts of its sinful dead, and tortured by the fear of its frightened living.

Written as a follow-up to The Scarlet Letter, The House of the Seven Gables draws on Hawthorne's own family history—an ancestor of his was a judge in the Salem witch trials—and demonstrates a masterful blending of the actual and the imaginary.

This edition includes:
-A concise introduction that gives the reader important background information
-A chronology of the author's life and work
-A timeline of significant events that provides the book's historical context
-An outline of key themes and plot points to guide the reader's own interpretations
-Detailed explanatory notes
-Critical analysis, including contemporary and modern perspectives on the work
-Discussion questions to promote lively classroom and book group interaction
-A list of recommended related books and films to broaden the reader's experience

Enriched Classics offer readers affordable editions of great works of literature enhanced by helpful notes and insightful commentary. The scholarship provided in Enriched Classics enables readers to appreciate, understand, and enjoy the world's finest books to their full potential.

About The Author

Nathaniel Hawthorne was born in Salem, Massachusetts. He was educated at the Bowdoin College in Maine (1821-24). Between the years 1825 and 1836 Hawthorne worked as a writer and contributor to periodicals. His first novel, Fanshawe, appeared anonymously at his own expense in 1828. In 1842 he married Sophia Peabody, an active participant in the Transcendentalist movement. His marriage to Sophia provided the inspiration for the noble character of Hester Prynne. He died in 1864.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (June 19, 2007)
  • Length: 432 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416534778

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Nathaniel Hawthorne

More books in this series: Enriched Classics