Skip to Main Content

The Last Dance of the Debutante

LIST PRICE $17.99

About The Book

In this “glorious dance through the traditional glamour and suffocating expectations of a bygone era” (Genevieve Graham, USA TODAY bestselling author), a group of young women are swept up in a life-changing journey as they become three of the last debutantes to be presented to Queen Elizabeth II.

When it’s announced that 1958 will be the last year debutantes are to be presented at court, thousands of eager mothers and hopeful daughters flood the palace with letters seeking the year’s most coveted invitation: a chance for their daughters to curtsy to the young Queen Elizabeth and officially come out into society.

In an effort to appease her traditional mother, aspiring university student Lily Nichols agrees to become a debutante and do the Season, a glittering and grueling string of countless balls and cocktail parties. In doing so, she befriends two very different women: the cool and aloof Leana Hartford whose apparent perfection hides a darker side and the ambitious Katherine Norman who dreams of a career once she helps her parents find their place among the elite. But the glorious effervescence of the Season evaporates once Lily learns a devastating secret that threatens to destroy her entire family.

“Woven with heartfelt emotion, this novel is a captivating, unforgettable story of one woman’s journey to find love, truth, and, most importantly, herself” (Kelly Bowen, author of The Paris Apartment) in midcentury Great Britain.

About The Author

Scott Bottles

Julia Kelly is the award-winning author of books about ordinary women and their extraordinary stories. In addition to writing, she’s been an Emmy-nominated producer, journalist, marketing professional, and (for one summer) a tea waitress. Julia called Los Angeles, Iowa, and New York City home before settling in London. Readers can visit JuliaKellyWrites.com to learn more about all of her books and sign up for her newsletter so they never miss a new release.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (January 10, 2023)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982171643

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Refreshing, intriguing, oozing with elegance . . . a charming gem of a novel that will delight fans of The Crown.” —Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Words for Goodbye

“Exquisitely researched and beautifully written . . . This story was so decadent, I wanted to don silk and crinoline and read it with a glass of champagne.” —Madeline Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Librarian Spy

“Kelly’s deft handling of the dynamics between the factions of female power in post–World War II England enlightens and educates her readers and brings them along on an unforgettable journey of a young woman’s liberation.” —Piper Huguley, author of Sweet Tea

“Between the crinkling of crinolines and the popping of champagne corks, Julia Kelly’s The Last Dance of the Debutante leads us on a glorious dance through the traditional glamour and suffocating expectations of a bygone era.” —Genevieve Graham, bestselling author of Bluebird

“Woven with heartfelt emotion, this novel is a captivating, unforgettable story of one woman’s journey to find love, truth, and, most importantly, herself.” —Kelly Bowen, author of The Paris Apartment

"The engrossing narrative dishes out the right amount of tension while moving the plot forward at a satisfying pace... Kelly succeeds at bringing a bygone world to life." Publishers Weekly

"Kelly’s descriptions of the glamorous, though long nights, are captivating. The pressure these young women feel to impress and make the right match is exhausting, and Kelly evokes compassion for her characters. The story is full of allure, society scandals, and the determination for these young women to eschew the dying traditions of the time." —Booklist

"Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reed, Madeline Martin, and Fiona Davis will feel at home in Kelly’s thoroughly researched novel of postwar England." —Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Julia Kelly