Skip to Main Content

The Serpent

Book #3 of Time of Heroes
LIST PRICE $25.00

THE ARTHURIAN-INSPIRED FAR FUTURE TALES FROM MASTER OF SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY DAVID DRAKE CONTINUES!

Jon of Dun Add has created a civilization where before there had only been isolated pockets of humanity in a shattered cosmos.

Young knight Pal is one of the most respected members of Lord Jon’s Hall of Champions. But Pal’s greatest talent lies not on the field of battle, though he’s no slouch there. He is also a Maker, one who can repair the tools the Ancients had left--sometimes. Moreover, he has learned to use his warrior dog’s ability to predict motion better than any human could, an ability that has saved his skin and won the day more than once.

Now, Pal will need all his talent—as a fighter, as a Maker, as a Champion—to deal with the monsters the Waste throws at him—and to deal with his fellow humans. For there are those who would destroy Dun Add, and Lord Jon’s vision of a humanity united in peace, from within….

Praise for The Storm:
“I finished The Storm last night. I loved it. It was such a sweet read. Pal is one of [Drake’s] best people, humane and strong and generous, and his voice carries the whole book.”—Cecelia Holland

“Counterbalancing the setting’s strangeness, Pal himself is thoroughly levelheaded and decent, the kind of hero readers will enjoy rooting for. This is an enjoyable exploration of a pleasantly peculiar world.”—Publishers Weekly

“. . . a wonderful cast of characters in a fabulous world of courtiers, peasants, Beasts, and mysterious Envoys. Drake has imbued Arthurian legend with a convincing sf spin.”—Booklist

About prequel The Spark:

“. . . entertaining tale combining the feel of Arthurian legend with nifty far-future super science . . .”—Publishers Weekly

“Drake retells Arthurian legend to perfect effect . . . efficient world building and likable characters.”—Booklist

About David Drake:

“Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly

“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along . . . character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com

“[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank . . . rivals Crane and Remarque . . .”—Chicago Sun-Times
 

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th Armored Cavalry in Vietnam and Cambodia. Upon return, he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years assistant town attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. His books include the genre-defining and best-selling Hammer’s Slammers series and the nationally best-selling RCN series, including In the Stormy Red SkyThe Road of DangerThe Sea without a Shore, and Death's Bright Day.

More books from this author: David Drake

More books in this series: Time of Heroes