The Trouble with Shooting Stars

LIST PRICE $10.99
About The Book

“A story brimming with hope and sparkling with magic. Meg Cannistra’s writing shines as bright as any shooting star.” —Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus

“Loving, imaginative, and gorgeously written, this book shines with magic and heart.” —Anne Ursu, author of The Lost Girl

Wonder meets Mary Poppins in this heartfelt debut novel about magic, healing, and the importance of family.

Twelve-year-old Luna loves the nighttime more than anything else. It’s when no one gives her “that look” about the half mask she has to wear while healing from a disfiguring car accident. It’s also the perfect time to sit outside and draw what she sees. Like the boy and girl from the new family next door…zipping out of the window in a zeppelin and up to the stars.

At first she thinks she’s dreaming. But one night they catch her watching. Now Luna spends her nights on adventures with them, as they clean full moons, arrange constellations, and catch jars of stardust. She even gets to make a wish on a shooting star they catch.

But Luna learns that no wish is strong enough to erase the past—as much as she may hope to.

About The Author

Meg Cannistra grew up in Sarasota, Florida, where she spent her childhood chasing after older sisters and cousins and learning how to cook. After living in New York City and north New Jersey for a few years, Meg now resides with her two cats, Gloom and Doom, in Charlotte, North Carolina. She has a BA in English literature from Flagler College and an MFA in creative writing from Hamline University. When she’s not taking pictures of her cats or wandering around grocery stores, she writes magical, mysterious, and sometimes scary stories. The Trouble with Shooting Stars is her debut novel. You can find her on Twitter and Instagram at @MegCannistra, and learn more about her books at MegCannistra.com.

Raves and Reviews

"A story brimming with hope and sparkling with magic. Meg Cannistra's writing shines as bright as any shooting star."

– Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus

"Loving, imaginative, and gorgeously written, The Trouble with Shooting Stars is a moving exploration of faith, hope, and the quiet acts of courage that can change a life. This book shines with magic and heart."

– Anne Ursu, author of The Lost Girl

"Sweet and heartwarming—but unsettlingly conflicted."

 

– Kirkus Reviews

[A] cute standalone for fans of Ingrid Law and Cornelia Funke.

– Booklist Online Exclusive, June 21, 2019