About The Book

Jonah knows that he's adopted, but he doesn't know that the past and history itself will depend on him more than he ever thought possible in this first book in Margaret Peterson Haddix's New York Times bestselling The Missing series.

One night a plane appeared out of nowhere, the only passengers aboard: thirty-six babies. As soon as they were taken off the plane, it vanished. Now, thirteen years later, two of those children are receiving sinister messages, and they begin to investigate their past. Their quest to discover where they really came from leads them to a conspiracy that reaches from the far past to the distant future—and will take them hurtling through time. In this exciting new series, bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix brings an element of suspense that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

About The Author

The Backstage Studio

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (April 21, 2009)
  • Length: 336 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416954217
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12
  • Lexile ® 750

Browse Related Books

Awards and Honors

  • Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Maud Hart Lovelace Award Master List (MN)
  • ILA Young Adults' Choices
  • Young Hoosier Book Award Master List (IN)
  • Massachusetts Children's Book Award
  • Indian Paintbrush Book Award Master List (WY)
  • Colorado Children's Book Award Master List
  • Great Stone Face Book Award Master List (NH)
  • Texas Lone Star Reading List
  • Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award Master List
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award (FL)
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award Master List (FL)
  • Volunteer State Book Award (TN)
  • Mark Twain Award Master List (MO)
  • North Carolina Children's Book Award Master List
  • North Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee
  • Buckeye Children's Book Award (OH)
  • Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
  • Sasquatch Reading Award (WA)
  • Nene Award (HI)
  • Isinglass Teen Read List Selection
  • Choose to Read Ohio Booklist Selection
  • Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year Selection Title
  • Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award

More books from this author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

More books in this series: The Missing