Skip to Main Content

Florida State Reading Lists

2023 - 2024 Florida Teen Reads Master List

Ain't Burned All the Bright

Illustrated by Jason Griffin
This edition: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication date: January 11, 2022
Ages: 12 - 99

A Caldecott Honor winner! Prepare yourself for something unlike anything: A smash-up of art and text for teens that viscerally captures what it is ...

The Cost of Knowing

This edition: Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication date: April 06, 2021
Ages: 12 - 99

Four starred reviews! Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End in this gripping, evocative novel about a Black teen who has the power to see into...

Roxy

This edition: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication date: November 09, 2021
Ages: 14 - 99

From the team that brought you the New York Times bestselling Dry comes a riveting new thriller that proves when gods play games, even love is a li...

2022 - 2023 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Jr. Master List Selection

Cranky Chicken

A Cranky Chicken Book 1
(Book #1 of Cranky Chicken)
Illustrated by Katherine Battersby
This edition: Paper Over Board, 116 pages
Publication date: September 07, 2021
Ages: 6 - 9

Narwhal and Jelly meet The Bad Guys in this brightly illustrated, downright hilarious chapter book graphic novel full of “sweet, wholesome fun” (BC...

2022 - 2023 Florida Teen Reads Master List

A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

This edition: Trade Paperback, 336 pages
Publication date: November 02, 2021
Ages: 12 - 99

A New York Times bestseller A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club YA Pick Love & Gelato meets Don’t Date Rosa Santos in this charming,...

A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

This edition: Hardcover, 320 pages
Publication date: November 10, 2020
Ages: 12 - 99

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club YA Pick “A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow is an absolute delight. Cozier than a hand-knit gr...

2022 - 2023 Sunshine State Young Reader's Award Master List Selection

Carry Me Home

This edition: Hardcover, 208 pages
Publication date: August 24, 2021
Ages: 8 - 12

“A poignant and powerful reminder that homelessness is not hopelessness.” —Kirby Larson, author of Newbery Honor book Hattie Big Sky Two sisters s...

2022 - 2023 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Master List Selection

The Million Dollar Race

This edition: Hardcover, 224 pages
Publication date: January 19, 2021
Ages: 8 - 12

“I dare you to predict the winner of The Million Dollar Race. OK, you dragged it out of me: it’s the READER!” —Jerry Spinelli, Newbery Award–winnin...

The Beast and the Bethany

Illustrated by Isabelle Follath
This edition: Hardcover, 240 pages
Publication date: December 08, 2020
Ages: 9 - 13

Lemony Snicket meets Roald Dahl in this “wickedly funny” (James Ponti, New York Times bestselling author), deliciously macabre, and highly illustra...

Double the Danger and Zero Zucchini

This edition: Hardcover, 304 pages
Publication date: September 22, 2020
Ages: 8 - 12

A young boy attempts to transform his aunt’s boring children’s book into an exciting one in this funny, fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of th...

Lola Benko, Treasure Hunter

This edition: Hardcover, 304 pages
Publication date: August 25, 2020
Ages: 9 - 13

Indiana Jones meets The Lost Property Office in this action-packed mystery about a young girl searching for her father from the author of Mrs. Smit...

Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

(Part of Charlie Thorne)
This edition: Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication date: September 17, 2019
Ages: 10 - 99

“Fast-paced, smart, and action-packed...a real page-burner.” —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestelling author of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Librar...

2022 - 2023 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Jr. Master List Selection

Missed Meal Mayhem

(Book #1 of The Hunger Heroes)
Illustrated by Jarrett Lerner
This edition: Hardcover, 128 pages
Publication date: November 09, 2021
Ages: 5 - 8

A group of silly superheroes—a bean, a chip, a tomato, and a wedge of cheddar cheese—come to the rescue of a hungry kid stuck at school in this fir...

Cranky Chicken

A Cranky Chicken Book 1
(Book #1 of Cranky Chicken)
Illustrated by Katherine Battersby
This edition: Paper Over Board, 116 pages
Publication date: September 07, 2021
Ages: 6 - 9

Narwhal and Jelly meet The Bad Guys in this brightly illustrated, downright hilarious chapter book graphic novel full of “sweet, wholesome fun” (BC...

The Haunted Mustache

(Book #1 of Night Frights)
Illustrated by Teo Skaffa
This edition: Trade Paperback, 160 pages
Publication date: August 31, 2021
Ages: 7 - 10

From the author of Junior Monster Scouts comes new spooky and silly series perfect for fans of Goosebumps and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. In...

2021 - 2022 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Master List Selection

Roll with It

(Part of Roll with It)
This edition: Hardcover, 256 pages
Publication date: October 01, 2019
Ages: 10 - 99

A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2019 “A big-hearted story that’s as sweet as it is awesome.” —R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder In the trad...

The Amelia Six

This edition: Hardcover, 272 pages
Publication date: June 30, 2020
Ages: 8 - 12

“A cozy whodunit that cheerfully affirms girls’ and women’s contributions to aerospace.” —Kirkus Reviews “Comparisons with Nancy Drew and Sammy Key...

A Field Guide to Getting Lost

This edition: Hardcover, 224 pages
Publication date: April 14, 2020
Ages: 8 - 99

“A cozy and enjoyable read.” —Kirkus Reviews “The likable cast and relatable premise will resonate with readers grappling with the uncertainty of c...

The Great Pet Heist

Illustrated by David Mottram
This edition: Hardcover, 256 pages
Publication date: June 02, 2020
Ages: 8 - 12

Ocean’s Eleven meets The Secret Life of Pets in this hilarious and delightfully illustrated novel following a ragtag group of pets who will do what...

2021 - 2022 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Junior Master List Selection

Geeger the Robot Goes to School

A QUIX Book
Illustrated by Serge Seidlitz
This edition: Hardcover, 80 pages
Publication date: September 22, 2020
Ages: 5 - 8

Amelia Bedelia meets James Patterson’s House of Robots series in the adventures of Geeger, a robot who goes to school for the very first time, in t...

Unicorns Are the Worst!

Illustrated by Alex Willan
This edition: Hardcover, 40 pages
Publication date: September 29, 2020
Ages: 4 - 8

Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great, this wildly funny and imaginative picture book celebrates the value of...

You Matter

Illustrated by Christian Robinson
This edition: Hardcover, 40 pages
Publication date: June 02, 2020
Ages: 4 - 8

A New York Times bestseller! Five starred reviews! Named Best Book of the Year by Barnes & Noble, The New York Times/New York Public Library, P...

2021 Florida Book Award Winner

Roxy

This edition: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication date: November 09, 2021
Ages: 14 - 99

From the team that brought you the New York Times bestselling Dry comes a riveting new thriller that proves when gods play games, even love is a li...

2021 Florida Book Award Honor Title

Golden Gate

(Book #2 of City Spies)
This edition: Hardcover, 432 pages
Publication date: March 09, 2021
Ages: 8 - 12

In this second installment in the New York Times bestselling series from Edgar Award winner James Ponti, the young group of spies returns for anoth...

2021 - 2022 Florida Literacy Association's Children's Book Award Winner

Marjory Saves the Everglades

The Story of Marjory Stoneman Douglas
Illustrated by Rebecca Gibbon
This edition: Hardcover, 56 pages
Publication date: September 22, 2020
Ages: 4 - 8

“Vibrant…an ideal starting point for further learning.” —School Library Journal “A lively portrayal of Douglas as a remarkable individual and a sig...

2021 - 2022 Florida Literacy Association's Children's Book Award Nominee

I Will Dance

Illustrated by Julianna Swaney
This edition: Hardcover, 48 pages
Publication date: May 26, 2020
Ages: 4 - 8

This poetic and uplifting picture book illustrated by the #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator of We Are the Gardeners by Joanna Gaines follow...

2021 - 2022 Florida Literacy Association's Children's Book Award Finalist

The Power of Her Pen

The Story of Groundbreaking Journalist Ethel L. Payne
Illustrated by John Parra
This edition: Hardcover, 48 pages
Publication date: January 14, 2020

“A powerful story.” —The Horn Book “A worthy addition to children’s biography collections.” —Booklist “A solid treatment of an important but little...

2023 - 2024 Florida Literacy Association's Children's Book Award Nominee

A Little Ferry Tale

Illustrated by Chad Otis
This edition: Hardcover, 40 pages
Publication date: August 02, 2022
Ages: 4 - 8

In the spirit of The Little Engine That Could, this sweet picture book introduces Little Ferry, who yearns to be more like the faster or stronger b...