Skip to Main Content

Mississippi State Reading Lists

2020 Magnolia Book Award Runner Up

Lifeboat 12

This edition: Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication date: September 04, 2018
Ages: 8 - 13

“This page-turning true-life adventure is filled with rich and riveting details and a timeless understanding of the things that matter most.”—Dashka...

2020 Magnolia Book Award Winner

A Heart in a Body in the World

This edition: Hardcover, 368 pages
Publication date: September 18, 2018
Ages: 14 - 99

“This is one for the ages.” —Gayle Forman, author of the #1 bestseller If I Stay “A book everyone should read right now.” —The New York Times Book...

What Do They Do with All That Poo?

Illustrated by Allison Black
This edition: Hardcover, 40 pages
Publication date: June 19, 2018
Ages: 3 - 8

Find out what happens to all of the poo at the zoo in this funny and factual picture book!There are so many different kinds of animals at the zoo, and...

2021 Magnolia Book Award Nominee

Just South of Home

This edition: Hardcover, 320 pages
Publication date: May 07, 2019
Ages: 8 - 12

A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2019 “A stirring Southern middle grade book that burns brighter than fireworks on the Fourth.” —Kirkus...

The Simple Art of Flying

This edition: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication date: February 12, 2019
Ages: 8 - 12

“Delightfully quirky.” —Kirkus Reviews Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot...

Journey of the Pale Bear

This edition: Hardcover, 304 pages
Publication date: October 02, 2018
Ages: 8 - 12

A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported from Norway to London in this lyrical and timeless adventure story about freedom,...

More to the Story

This edition: Hardcover, 272 pages
Publication date: September 03, 2019
Ages: 8 - 12

From the critically acclaimed author of Amina’s Voice comes a new story inspired by Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic, Little Women, featuring four...

Nobody Hugs a Cactus

Illustrated by Carter Goodrich
This edition: Hardcover, 48 pages
Publication date: April 16, 2019
Ages: 4 - 8

Celebrated artist and lead character designer of Brave, Ratatouille, and Despicable Me, Carter Goodrich, shows that sometimes, even the prickliest...

This Is MY Room!

(No Tigers Allowed)
Illustrated by Alexandria Neonakis
This edition: Hardcover, 48 pages
Publication date: May 28, 2019
Ages: 4 - 8

Jojo’s ready for her first night all alone in her very own room, but a menagerie of animals have other ideas in this charming and fun picture book.Jojo...

Love, Z

Illustrated by Jessie Sima
This edition: Hardcover, 48 pages
Publication date: December 18, 2018
Ages: 4 - 8

From the creator of Not Quite Narwhal comes the story of a young robot trying to find the meaning of “love.”When a small robot named Z discovers a...