Skip to Main Content

Virginia State Reading Lists

2018 - 2019 Virginia Readers' Choice Award

Ghost

(Book #1 of Track)
This edition: Hardcover, 192 pages
Publication date: August 30, 2016
Ages: 10 - 99

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature. Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read. Ghost...

2019 Jefferson Cup Award Honor Title

Fly Girls

The Daring American Women Pilots Who Helped Win WWII
This edition: Trade Paperback, 224 pages
Publication date: February 12, 2019
Ages: 10 - 99

“A truly inspiring read.” —Booklist (starred review) “A solid account of women’s contributions as aviators during World War II.” —Kirkus Reviews In the...

2020 Jefferson Cup Award Honor Title

Fighting for the Forest

How FDR's Civilian Conservation Corps Helped Save America
This edition: Hardcover, 208 pages
Publication date: October 08, 2019
Ages: 10 - 99

In an inspiring middle grade nonfiction work, P. O’Connell Pearson tells the story of the Civilian Conservation Corps—one of Franklin Delano...

2020 - 2021 Virginia Reader's Choice Award List

Dry

This edition: Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication date: October 02, 2018
Ages: 12 - 99

When the California drought escalates to catastrophic proportions, one teen is forced to make life and death decisions for her family in this harrowing...

The Perfect Candidate

This edition: Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication date: October 02, 2018
Ages: 12 - 99

From debut author Peter Stone comes a heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards. When...

Just Add Glitter

Illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
This edition: Hardcover, 32 pages
Publication date: October 09, 2018
Ages: 4 - 8

Is there really such a thing as too much bling? Find out in this sparkly homage to imagination and creativity gone wild that’s perfect for even the...

What Do They Do with All That Poo?

Illustrated by Allison Black
This edition: Hardcover, 40 pages
Publication date: June 19, 2018
Ages: 3 - 8

Find out what happens to all of the poo at the zoo in this funny and factual picture book!There are so many different kinds of animals at the zoo, and...