Skip to Main Content

The Giants' Farm


Book #1 of Giants Series
Illustrated by Tomie dePaola

About The Book

From the bestselling and beloved team Jane Yolen and Tomie dePaola come the adventures of a family of hilarious and huge-hearted Giants in this series for Aladdin QUIX, a line of fun-to-read, short chapter books.

Meet Dazzle, Grizzle, Grub, Grab, and Dab, a family of giants who decide a farm would be the best place for them to live. Will this huge-hearted group be able call Fe-Fi-Fo Farm home sweet home?


Chapter 1: The Farm 1 The Farm
Long ago there were five giants who wanted to live together on a farm.

There was Grizzle. He was the biggest and liked to build things.

Dazzle was the roundest, and she loved to cook.

The twins—Grab and Grub—always stuck together.

Last was the little giant Dab, who loved to read.

To make the farm, first the giants had to clear the land. Grizzle picked up huge boulders. He laid them one on top of another to make an enormous wall.

Together, Grab and Grub moved trees whose bark looked like long, shaggy dresses.

Dab read a book that showed her how to rake everything smooth.

And Dazzle, as usual, made something for everyone to eat. YUM!

Next, they had to build a mammoth house of wood. It had to be just the right size for five enormous giants.

Grab and Grub sawed the beams. OOF!

Grizzle put on the roof.

Dab gave out the nails.

And Dazzle, as usual, made something delicious for everyone to eat.

Then the giants brought in stuff for the house—things just the right size for giants.

Grizzle brought in a great grandfather clock and a tremendous couch and chairs.

Grab and Grub moved in a grand piano with keys the size of hockey sticks.

Little Dab carried in big books and bigger bookcases.

And Dazzle made the yummy dinner as usual, using the pots and pans she had packed with care.

At last they sat down to eat, and Dab said, “Now that we have a farm, what shall we call it?”

“How about George?” said Grizzle.

Little Dab sighed. “Not poetic enough.”

“How about Our Home?” asked the twins.

“Too plain,” said Dab.

“Pudding Place?” Dazzle asked, licking her lips.

No one paid any attention to that. Instead they all growled at little Dab. “What do you like best?”

“I don’t know,” said little Dab. “But it will come to me. Such things take a little time.”

In the middle of dinner, Dab looked up and smiled. “I know the best name for a giants’ place.” She raised her mug of flower water.

“To Fe-Fi-Fo-Farm!” she said.

“YAY!” they all agreed.

And so their farm was named.

About The Author

Photograph by Jason Stemple

Jane Yolen is an award-winning author who has written more than 380 books for children, including the bestseller How Do Dinosaurs Say Good Night? and the 1988 Caldecott Medal winner Owl Moon. She is known for her beautiful poetry, picture books, fairy tales, novels, and nonfiction, and has even been called “the Hans Christian Andersen of America” (Newsweek). She lives in Hatfield, Massachusetts. Visit her at

About The Illustrator

Photograph © Laurent Linn

Tomie dePaola (1934–2020) was the beloved author and/or illustrator of more than 270 books for young readers, including the children’s classic Strega Nona. He was the recipient of the Newbery Honor, Caldecott Honor, and the 2011 Children’s Literature Legacy Award for “significant and lasting contribution to children’s literature.” A native of Connecticut, Mr. dePaola studied at the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, and spent much of his life in New London, New Hampshire. Visit his work online at

Product Details

  • Publisher: Aladdin (February 7, 2023)
  • Length: 80 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534488571
  • Grades: K - 3
  • Ages: 5 - 8
  • Lexile ® 540L The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®
  • Fountas & Pinnell™ M These books have been officially leveled by using the F&P Text Level Gradient™ Leveling System

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Jane Yolen

More books from this illustrator: Tomie dePaola

More books in this series: Giants Series